30th Street Main Post Office of Philadelphia to Receive Preservation Honor Award

National Trust for Historic Preservation to present award at its national conference

Washington, D.C. – The National Trust for Historic Preservation will present its Preservation Honor Award for the restoration of the 30th Street Main Post Office in Philadelphia.  The project is one of 22 award winners to be honored by the National Trust during its 2012 National Preservation Conference next week in Spokane, Wash.

In the 1930s, Art Deco was king, and Philadelphia’s flourishing commercial district was anchored by the Art Deco 30th Street Station and the Main Post Office. Unfortunately, the Great Depression and World War II dampened the area’s prosperity. Though 30th Street Station continued to serve as a transportation hub, the 30th Street Main Post Office slipped into obsolescence as the turn of the century approached, and was finally left vacant in 2006.

However, Philadelphia wasn’t ready to see its vision of a thriving urban center die. A team of private developers, government agencies, and architects embarked on one of the largest tax credit projects in the state’s history. The massive facility was transformed into a modern office building. The $252 million project reversed 70 years of exterior deterioration and restored the original bronze windows earning the building a certification of LEED Gold in the process.

The post office has served as the linchpin of a major redevelopment effort, and the addition of 5,000 employees has already increased vitality in the area. Thanks to the newly restored 30th Street Main Post Office, that decades-old dream of a thriving urban commercial district is finally being realized.
“While each is unique, this year’s outstanding Honor Award winners all reflect the importance of protecting what is special and irreplaceable,” said Stephanie Meeks, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.  “Whether it’s the restoration of an iconic post office in Philadelphia or the transformation of a Greyhound bus station into a Civil Rights museum in Montgomery, this year’s Honor Award winners demonstrate how saving places is bolstering local economies and creating jobs in communities across the country.” 

The award will be presented to Bohlin, Cywinski, Jackson at the Richard H. Driehaus National Preservation Awards ceremony in Spokane, Wash., on Friday, November 2.

Co-recipients are: BNIM; Brandywine Realty Trust; Jacobs Engineering; Keating Development (KMS Development Partners); PHY Engineers, Inc.; and Powers & Co., Inc.

The National Preservation Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage. These efforts include citizen attempts to save and maintain important landmarks; companies and craftsmen whose work restores the richness of the past; the vision of public officials who support preservation projects and legislation in their communities; and educators and journalists who help Americans understand the value of preservation. The winners of the National Preservation Awards will appear online at www.PreservationNation.org/awards.


Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award: Donovan Rypkema, Washington, D.C.

National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Award for Federal Partnerships in Historic Preservation: Montgomery Greyhound Bus Station--Freedom Rides Museum, Montgomery, Ala.

The American Express Aspire Award: Recognizing Emerging Leaders in Preservation: M. Rosalind Sagara, Riverside, Calif.  

Peter H. Brink Award for Individual Achievement in Historic Preservation: Enid Pinkney, Coral Gables, Fl.

National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation: Saint Luke’s Manor, Cleveland.

Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence: The Preservation Alliance of Minnesota, Saint Paul, Minn. 

John H. Chafee Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement in Public Policy: John Andrew Gallery, Philadelphia.

Trustees Emeritus Award for Excellence in the Stewardship of Historic Sites: The Jane Addams Hull House, Chicago.

30th Street Main Post Office, Philadelphia.

ASM International Headquarters, Materials Park, Ohio.

Charles H. Shaw Technology and Learning Center, Chicago.

Leavenworth Building 19, Leavenworth, Kan.

Gullah Museum of Hilton Head Island’s Preservation of Duey’s Home, Hilton Head Island, S.C.

The Historic Park Inn Hotel, Mason City, Iowa.

Main Building at Our Lady of the Lake University, San Antonio.

Market Square Place, Pittsburgh.

New Orleans U.S. Custom House, New Orleans.

Oswego Iron Furnace, Lake Oswego, Ore. 

Accident Fund National Headquarters/Ottawa Street Power Station, Lansing, Mich.

SIERR Building at McKinstry Station, Spokane, Wash.

Todd Bolender Center for Dance and Creativity, Kansas City, Mo.

Washington State Heritage Barn Preservation Initiative, Wash.  



The National Trust for Historic Preservation, a privately funded nonprofit organization, works to save America’s historic places. PreservationNation.org, @SavingPlaces