Leavenworth Building 19, in Leavenworth, Kan., to Receive Preservation Honor Award

Washington, D.C. (October 24, 2012) –The National Trust for Historic Preservation will present its Preservation Honor Award for the restoration of Leavenworth Building 19 in Leavenworth, Kan. The project is one of 22 award winners to be honored by the National Trust during its 2012 National Preservation Conference next week in Spokane, Wash.

The combination of a National Historic Landmark, a group of grassroots preservationists, and an innovative public-private partnership made the newly restored Leavenworth Building 19 possible. This 1886 Romanesque Revival building was the dining hall at the Home for Disabled Volunteer Soldiers, but when operations moved to a new campus the facility was abandoned.

In 1999, when officials proposed demolition, concerned citizens formed Veterans Administration (VA) Leavenworth Opportunity for Reuse- or “VALOR.”  VALOR and developer, The Pioneer Group, worked tirelessly with the VA to find alternatives to demolition. They secured private funds via the Enhanced Use Lease program and began the rehabilitation and adaptive reuse of Building 19 into office space. Historic features were preserved, insensitive alterations were removed, and modern office amenities were added. Once used to serve meals to disabled veterans, Leavenworth Building 19 now houses a new VA medical records office that brought 400 jobs to town.        

“While each is unique, this year’s outstanding Honor Award winners all reflect the importance of protecting what is special and irreplaceable,” said Stephanie Meeks, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.  “Whether it’s the restoration of an iconic post office in Philadelphia or the transformation of a Greyhound bus station into a Civil Rights museum in Montgomery, this year’s Honor Award winners demonstrate how saving places is bolstering local economies and creating jobs in communities across the country.” 

The award will be presented to the Pioneer Group, Inc. at the Richard H. Driehaus National Preservation Awards ceremony in Spokane, Wash., on Friday, November 2. 

Co-recipients are: Department of Veteran Affairs CPAC; Spencer Preservation; Straub Construction; Treanor Architects; and VA Leavenworth Opportunity for Reuse                                                                                                           

The National Preservation Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage. These efforts include citizen attempts to save and maintain important landmarks; companies and craftsmen whose work restores the richness of the past; the vision of public officials who support preservation projects and legislation in their communities; and educators and journalists who help Americans understand the value of preservation. The winners of the National Preservation Awards will appear online at www.PreservationNation.org/awards.


The 2012 National Preservation Award Winners: 

Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award: Donovan Rypkema, Washington, D.C.

National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Award for Federal Partnerships in Historic Preservation: Montgomery Greyhound Bus Station--Freedom Rides Museum, Montgomery, Ala.

The American Express Aspire Award: Recognizing Emerging Leaders in Preservation: M. Rosalind Sagara, Riverside, Calif.   

Peter H. Brink Award for Individual Achievement in Historic Preservation: Enid Pinkney, Coral Gables, Fl.

National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation: Saint Luke’s Manor, Cleveland.

Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence: The Preservation Alliance of Minnesota, Saint Paul, Minn.  

John H. Chafee Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement in Public Policy: John Andrew Gallery, Philadelphia.

Trustees Emeritus Award for Excellence in the Stewardship of Historic Sites: The Jane Addams Hull House, Chicago.


30th Street Main Post Office, Philadelphia.

ASM International Headquarters, Materials Park, Ohio.

Charles H. Shaw Technology and Learning Center, Chicago. 

Leavenworth Building 19, Leavenworth, Kan. 

Gullah Museum of Hilton Head Island’s Preservation of Duey’s Home, Hilton Head Island, S.C. 

The Historic Park Inn Hotel, Mason City, Iowa.

Main Building at Our Lady of the Lake University, San Antonio.

Market Square Place, Pittsburgh.

New Orleans U.S. Custom House, New Orleans.

Oswego Iron Furnace, Lake Oswego, Ore.  

Accident Fund National Headquarters/Ottawa Street Power Station, Lansing, Mich.

SIERR Building at McKinstry Station, Spokane, Wash. 

Todd Bolender Center for Dance and Creativity, Kansas City, Mo.

Washington State Heritage Barn Preservation Initiative, Wash.   



The National Trust for Historic Preservation, a privately funded nonprofit organization, works to save America’s historic places. PreservationNation.org, @SavingPlaces