Accident Fund National Headquarters/Ottawa Street Power Station, in Lansing, Mich., to Receive Preservation Honor Award

Washington, D.C. (October 24, 2012) –The National Trust for Historic Preservation will present its Preservation Honor Award for the restoration of the Accident Fund National Headquarters/Ottawa Street Power Station in Lansing, Mich.  The project is one of 22 award winners to be honored by the National Trust during its 2012 National Preservation Conference next week in Spokane, Wash.

In 1939, residents of Lansing, Mich. were surprised to see a giant flame rising over their downtown – not from a fire, but from the newly built Ottawa Street Power Station. The nine-story Art Deco building’s colorful brickwork which changes from black to red to orange to gold, symbolized the coal combustion taking place within. An instant local landmark, it powered the region for years until it was decommissioned in 1992.

Disuse took its toll until Accident Fund Holdings, Inc. approached a developer about turning the building into 122,000 square feet of office space with a compatible addition. The Christman Company enthusiastically agreed to take on the project.

Workers repaired or replicated severely deteriorated windows and removed drywall and dropped ceilings to reveal the high-style lobby. Every single brick was cleaned or replaced. The LEED Gold certified new headquarters for Accident Fund Holdings, Inc. retained 600 jobs in Lansing and has sparked additional downtown revitalization efforts.        

“While each is unique, this year’s outstanding Honor Award winners all reflect the importance of protecting what is special and irreplaceable,” said Stephanie Meeks, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.  “Whether it’s the restoration of an iconic post office in Philadelphia or the transformation of a Greyhound bus station into a Civil Rights museum in Montgomery, this year’s Honor Award winners demonstrate how saving places is bolstering local economies and creating jobs in communities across the country.” 

The award will be presented to Quinn Evans Architects at the National Preservation Awards ceremony in Spokane, Wash., on Friday, November 2.

Co-recipients are: Accident Fund Holdings, Inc.; Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan; The City of Lansing; Christman Capital Development Company; The Christman Company; HOK; Lansing Board of Water and Light; Lansing Economic Development Corporation; Michigan State Historic Preservation Office

The National Preservation Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage. These efforts include citizen attempts to save and maintain important landmarks; companies and craftsmen whose work restores the richness of the past; the vision of public officials who support preservation projects and legislation in their communities; and educators and journalists who help Americans understand the value of preservation. The winners of the National Preservation Awards will appear online at

The 2012 National Preservation Award Winners:

Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award: Donovan Rypkema, Washington, D.C.

National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Award for Federal Partnerships in Historic Preservation: Montgomery Greyhound Bus Station--Freedom Rides Museum, Montgomery, Ala. 

The American Express Aspire Award: Recognizing Emerging Leaders in Preservation: M. Rosalind Sagara, Riverside, Calif.    

Peter H. Brink Award for Individual Achievement in Historic Preservation: Enid Pinkney, Coral Gables, Fl. 

National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation: Saint Luke’s Manor, Cleveland. 

Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence: The Preservation Alliance of Minnesota, Saint Paul, Minn.   

John H. Chafee Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement in Public Policy: John Andrew Gallery, Philadelphia. 

Trustees Emeritus Award for Excellence in the Stewardship of Historic Sites: The Jane Addams Hull House, Chicago.


30th Street Main Post Office, Philadelphia.

ASM International Headquarters, Materials Park, Ohio. 

Charles H. Shaw Technology and Learning Center, Chicago. 

Leavenworth Building 19, Leavenworth, Kan. 

Gullah Museum of Hilton Head Island’s Preservation of Duey’s Home, Hilton Head Island, S.C. 

The Historic Park Inn Hotel, Mason City, Iowa.

Main Building at Our Lady of the Lake University, San Antonio.

Market Square Place, Pittsburgh. 

New Orleans U.S. Custom House, New Orleans.

Oswego Iron Furnace, Lake Oswego, Ore.  

Accident Fund National Headquarters/Ottawa Street Power Station, Lansing, Mich. 

SIERR Building at McKinstry Station, Spokane, Wash.

Todd Bolender Center for Dance and Creativity, Kansas City, Mo.

Washington State Heritage Barn Preservation Initiative, Wash.   



The National Trust for Historic Preservation, a privately funded nonprofit organization, works to save America’s historic places., @SavingPlaces