Preservation Alliance of Minnesota to Receive Preservation Honor Award

National Trust for Historic Preservation to Present Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence at National Conference

Washington, D.C. – The National Trust for Historic Preservation will present its 2012 Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence to the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota.  The organization is one of 22 award winners to be honored by the National Trust during its 2012 National Preservation Conference next week in Spokane, Wash.

Minnesota is a land of 10,000 lakes – and just as many one-of-a-kind historic sites. Places like the Rock Island Swing Bridge, the Androy Hotel, the Thorstein Veblen Farm, and the Big Fish Supper Club are all unique, but they share one common denominator – the involvement of the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota. 

The Preservation Alliance, which was established by a group of concerned citizens in 1981, has grown into a high-performing grassroots advocacy organization focused on key preservation issues, public policy, promotion, and education. For 11 years, the Alliance waged an advocacy campaign for the establishment of a state historic preservation tax credit. In 2009, a new partnership with over 50 organizations linked to construction and labor unions helped align the preservation message with the legislative priority of job creation. On April 1, 2010, the Minnesota legislature passed one of the most progressive historic rehabilitation tax credit programs in the nation, which has yielded an investment of more than $9 per $1 credited and almost 3,000 new jobs. Also in 2010, the Preservation Alliance concluded a three year effort to re-launch the Minnesota Main Street Program now operating under the umbrella of the organization.  It has since welcomed five designated Main Streets and 23 associate-level communities.
“The Preservation Alliance of Minnesota has had an impact on nearly every town across the state” said Stephanie Meeks, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. “From legislative successes like the state tax credit to the re-launch of the Minnesota Main Street Program, the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota works hard every day to keep Minnesota a special place.” 
The award will be presented at the National Preservation Awards ceremony in Spokane, Wash., on Friday, November 2.

The National Preservation Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage. These efforts include citizen attempts to save and maintain important landmarks; companies and craftsmen whose work restores the richness of the past; the vision of public officials who support preservation projects and legislation in their communities; and educators and journalists who help Americans understand the value of preservation. The winners of the National Preservation Awards will appear online at


Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award: Donovan Rypkema, Washington, D.C.

National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Award for Federal Partnerships in Historic Preservation: Montgomery Greyhound Bus Station--Freedom Rides Museum, Montgomery, Ala.

The American Express Aspire Award: Recognizing Emerging Leaders in Preservation: M. Rosalind Sagara, Riverside, Calif.  

Peter H. Brink Award for Individual Achievement in Historic Preservation: Enid Pinkney, Coral Gables, Fl.

National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation: Saint Luke’s Manor, Cleveland.

Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence: The Preservation Alliance of Minnesota, Saint Paul, Minn. 

John H. Chafee Trustees’ Award for Outstanding Achievement in Public Policy: John Andrew Gallery, Philadelphia.

Trustees Emeritus Award for Excellence in the Stewardship of Historic Sites: The Jane Addams Hull House, Chicago.


30th Street Main Post Office, Philadelphia.

ASM International Headquarters, Materials Park, Ohio.

Charles H. Shaw Technology and Learning Center, Chicago.

Leavenworth Building 19, Leavenworth, Kan.

Gullah Museum of Hilton Head Island’s Preservation of Duey’s Home, Hilton Head Island, S.C.

The Historic Park Inn Hotel, Mason City, Iowa.

Main Building at Our Lady of the Lake University, San Antonio.

Market Square Place, Pittsburgh.

New Orleans U.S. Custom House, New Orleans.

Oswego Iron Furnace, Lake Oswego, Ore. 

Accident Fund National Headquarters/Ottawa Street Power Station, Lansing, Mich.

SIERR Building at McKinstry Station, Spokane, Wash.

Todd Bolender Center for Dance and Creativity, Kansas City, Mo.

Washington State Heritage Barn Preservation Initiative, Wash.  



The National Trust for Historic Preservation, a privately funded nonprofit organization, works to save America’s historic places., @SavingPlaces