Cleveland Restoration Society to Receive National Preservation Award

National Trust for Historic Preservation to present award at its national conference

The National Trust for Historic Preservation will present the Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence to the Cleveland Restoration Society (CRS).  The organization is one of 18 award winners to be honored by the National Trust during its 2013 National Preservation Conference in Indianapolis, Ind. 

Over the past 40 years, CRS has been Northeast Ohio’s most respected voice for heritage conservation and an innovative leader in the preservation community. Formed in 1973, CRS has created impactful programs, such as the Heritage Home Program, which provides owners of older and historic homes low interest loans and free technical assistance. Over the past 20 years, the program has helped more than 5,000 homeowners, loaned $35 million and expanded to 22 other communities. 

The organization has helped to engage preservationists through its Façade magazine and other successful programs, such as Sacred Landmarks Assistance and Preservation Services. To celebrate its 40th birthday, CRS has begun a legacy project to survey, nominate and celebrate African-American landmarks across the city. To date, it has identified more than 100 sites.             

“Time and time again, Cleveland Restoration Society has demonstrated the power of preservation though their outstanding grassroots programs and innovation,” said Stephanie Meeks, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. “This group’s passion, commitment and creativity has helped retain Cleveland’s unique character, and made a positive difference in the lives of people throughout Ohio.”  

The award will be presented to Cleveland Restoration Society at the Richard H. Driehaus National Preservation Awards ceremony in Indianapolis, Ind., on November 1, 2013. 

The National Preservation Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage. These efforts include citizen attempts to save and maintain important landmarks; companies and craftsmen whose work restores the richness of the past; the vision of public officials who support preservation projects and legislation in their communities; and educators and journalists who help Americans understand the value of preservation. The winners of the National Preservation Awards will appear online at


The 2013 National Preservation Award Winners: 

Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award: Richard Moe, Washington, D.C.

National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Award for Federal Partnerships in Historic Preservation:  Presidio Public Health Service District, San Francisco, Calif. 

The American Express Aspire Award: Recognizing Emerging Leaders in Historic Preservation: Alison King, Phoenix, Ariz.    

Peter H. Brink Award for Individual Achievement in Historic Preservation: Don Worth – Friends of Miami Marine Stadium, Miami, Fl. 

National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation: Riverside Plaza, Minneapolis, Minn. 

Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence: Cleveland Restoration Society, Cleveland, Ohio.  

The Tony Goldman Award: The Maritime, New Orleans, LA. 

Trustees Emeritus Award for Excellence in the Stewardship of Historic Sites: Los Poblanos Historic Inn and Organic Farm, Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM.



African Meeting House, Boston Massachusetts 

Boyle Hotel, Los Angeles, California 

Fort Sam Houston, Fort Sam Houston, Texas 

Indiana Landmarks Center, Indianapolis, Indiana 

Kelly Cullen Community, San Francisco, California 

NSO Bell Building, Detroit, Michigan

Ogden High School, Ogden, Utah 

St. Augustine Mission, Los Lunas, New Mexico

St. Louis Public Library, St. Louis, Missouri

Warren Cultural Center, Greenfield, Iowa



The National Trust for Historic Preservation, a privately funded nonprofit organization, works to save America’s historic places., @SavingPlaces