Riverside Plaza in Minneapolis, Minn., to Receive National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation

National Trust for Historic Preservation to present award at its national conference

The National Trust for Historic Preservation will present its National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation, for the restoration of the Riverside Plaza in Minneapolis, Minn.  The project is one of 18 award winners to be honored by the National Trust during its 2013 National Preservation Conference in Indianapolis, Ind.

The Cedar Riverside neighborhood near downtown Minneapolis has been a point of arrival for immigrants since the late 19th century. When the neighborhood declined after World War II, idealistic developers set out to turn 100 acres of low-density properties into a diverse and futuristic community. Fueled by a major HUD initiative, Cedar Square West included 1,300 apartment units and some commercial space. Despite the projects early success, however, political, financial and other problems led to its gradual decline.

In 1988, a group of for‐profit and nonprofit investors led by Sherman Associates bought the property and renamed it "Riverside Plaza." Even though it was only 37 years old, the property’s historical and architectural importance earned it National Register status in 2010, opening the door to major renovation. Sherman Associates used federal and state historic tax credits to help fund a two‐year, $65 million rehabilitation that upgraded all 1,300 residential units, making it one of the largest HUD‐supported projects in the United States, and the largest affordable housing development in Minnesota. By extending the complex’s life, Riverside Plaza filled a critical need for affordable housing in the Twin Cities and set the bar for rehabilitating large‐scale 1970s developments. Now Riverside Plaza is again a welcoming gateway for new immigrants, showcasing how preservation can transform not only neighborhoods, but lives as well.

“While each is unique, this year’s outstanding Honor Award winners all reflect the importance of protecting what is special and irreplaceable,” said Stephanie Meeks, president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.  “Whether it’s the spectacular restoration of an iconic public library in St. Louis or the transformation of a warehouse into housing for previously homeless residents in Detroit, this year’s Honor Award winners demonstrate how saving places bolsters local economies and creates jobs in communities across the country.” 

The award will be presented to Sherman Associates at the Richard H. Driehaus National Preservation Awards ceremony in Indianapolis on November 1, 2013.

Co-recipients are: AEGON USA Realty Advisors, LLC.; AFL-CIO Housing Investment Trust; Blumentals/Architecture; City of Minneapolis; Commerce Bank; Family Housing Fund; Hennepin County; Hess, Roise and Company; HUD Minneapolis; Knutson Construction; Metropolitan Council; Minnesota Housing; Minnesota Historical Society; Oak Grove Capital; and the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota; 

The National Preservation Awards are bestowed on distinguished individuals, nonprofit organizations, public agencies and corporations whose skill and determination have given new meaning to their communities through preservation of our architectural and cultural heritage. These efforts include citizens’ attempts to save and maintain important landmarks; companies and craftsmen whose work restores the richness of the past; the vision of public officials who support preservation projects and legislation in their communities; and educators and journalists who help Americans understand the value of preservation. The winners of the National Preservation Awards will appear online at www.PreservationNation.org/awards.


The 2013 National Preservation Award Winners:

Louise du Pont Crowninshield Award: Richard Moe, Washington, D.C.

National Trust/Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Award for Federal Partnerships in Historic Preservation: Presidio Public Health Service District, San Francisco, Calif.

The American Express Aspire Award: Recognizing Emerging Leaders in Historic Preservation: Alison King, Phoenix, Ariz.   

Peter H. Brink Award for Individual Achievement in Historic Preservation: Don Worth – Friends of Miami Marine Stadium, Miami, Fl.

National Trust/HUD Secretary’s Award for Excellence in Historic Preservation: Riverside Plaza, Minneapolis, Minn.

Trustees’ Award for Organizational Excellence: Cleveland Restoration Society, Cleveland, Ohio.  

The Tony Goldman Award: The Maritime, New Orleans, LA.

Trustees Emeritus Award for Excellence in the Stewardship of Historic Sites: Los Poblanos Historic Inn and Organic Farm, Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM.



African Meeting House, Boston Massachusetts 

Boyle Hotel, Los Angeles, California 

Fort Sam Houston, Fort Sam Houston, Texas

Indiana Landmarks Center, Indianapolis, Indiana

Kelly Cullen Community, San Francisco, California 

NSO Bell Building, Detroit, Michigan 

Ogden High School, Ogden, Utah

St. Augustine Mission, Los Lunas, New Mexico 

St. Louis Public Library, St. Louis, Missouri

Warren Cultural Center, Greenfield, Iowa



The National Trust for Historic Preservation, a privately funded nonprofit organization, works to save America’s historic places. PreservationNation.org, @SavingPlaces